top of page

About the Center

The M.O.T. Senior Center is a non-profit, non-residential community center located in the heart of Middletown, Delaware. 


The Middletown-Odessa-Townsend Senior Center, Inc was founded in July 1967.  Mr. James Mullen, Mayor of Middletown, and Miriam Fillingame knew the need for a senior center in the large rural area and moved forward with Dr. Hector J. Lemaire of the Bureau of Aging to make that dream a reality. Initial funds were obtained from the Bureau of Aging, State and Federal sources.  The local Jaycees offered a part of their building on South Scott Street as the first location for the Center. With that, the M.O.T. Senior Center opened its door to 152 members in July of 1967.


As the only senior center in lower New Castle County – the service area was from the Kent County line to the Canal, and from the Maryland line to the Delaware River/Bay. 


The nutrition program started as a covered dish luncheon and eventually became self-supporting with donations.

In 1971, the State Division of Housing approached the center with plans for a 24 unit senior housing project (Holly Square) with a community building which became the home of the M.O.T Senior Center in 1972. United Way and the Division of Aging added their support in 1974.


The need for senior transportation was apparent.  In 1976 Senator Donald Issacs helped the Center obtain funding through the State for our first bus.  In 1983 we got a minibus and a medical van.  And our fleet has continued to grow.


In 1990 Mr. Harry A. & Laura Schragrin donated 6.9 acres of land to the Center.  On September 19 of that year, Thelma Levinson (their daughter) signed over the parcel which provided the space the center sits on today. The original 9,000 square foot building of Victorian design, had its groundbreaking on July 11, 1993, and its doors on June 15, 1996.  The Center was expanded and went through its latest renovations in May of 2007.

Our current membership is over 1100 and we serve over 1500 seniors yearly.

Our Mission Statement

M.O.T. (Middletown-Odessa-Townsend)Senior Center, Inc's mission is to enable older adults in our service area (canal to Kent County) to maintain active, healthy, productive, and financially secure lives. The center strives to help its members remain independent and active in the community for as long as safely possible.


We are an anchor in our community, and while our first responsibility is to our seniors, we serve the general and disabilities communities through food distribution, medical transportation, and we are a hub location for community meetings.

Meet Our Executive Director




B.A. (Psychology) - University of Delaware
MSM (Master of Science in Management) -  Wilmington University

Ceil has worked in the Delaware non-profit sector for over 30 years

The M.O.T. Senior Center Staff

Lynda Giambra Admin Assist.jpg

Lynda Giambra 

Administrative Assistant

Linda Claytor Receptionist.jpg

Linda Claytor

PT Receptionist

Meg Myers Outreach Coordinator - Headsho

Meg Myers

Outreach Coordinator

Jo Verni Receptionist.jpg

Jo Verni

PT Receptionist

Pam Cotman PT Security.jpg

Phil Shannon

Part Time Security

Pam Cotman

Part Time Security

Scott Lawrence Bookkeeper.jpg

Scott Lawrence


Hall Rentals

Betty Mousely - Bookkeeper -
Marsha Wesley - Transportation Coordinat
Mark Campbell.jpg

Betty Mousley 


Marsha Wesley 

Transportation Coordinator

Mark Campbell

Facilities Coordinator

Dawn McDowell Mind Matters -

Dawn McDowell 

Mind Matters Coordinator

Susan Strouse PT Custodian.jpg

Susan Strouse

PT Custodian

Lonnie Clark Security.jpg

Lonnie Clark

Part Time Security

Ted Cieslak.jpg

Ted Cieslak

Part Time Security

Mitch Gearinger PT Driver.jpg

Mitch Gearinger

Part Time BusDriver

Calvin Suggs PT Bus Driver.jpg

Calvin Suggs

Part Time Bus Driver

Rosilyn Wilson PT Bus Driver.jpg

Rosilyn Wilson

Part Time Bus Driver

Ben Gilbert PT Bus Driver.jpg

Ben Gilbert

Part Time Bus Driver

Meet Our Board of Directors

William O'Neal, President of the Board o
Don Mueller Board Member.jpg

William O'Neal

President of the Board of Directors

Lorraine McGhee


Secretary of the Board

David Danielson

 Finance Committee Chair

Don Mueller
Board Member
Mark Reichlin, Board Member.jpg

Mark Reichlin 

Board Member

Anitra Professional Photo.jpg

Anitra Jones

Board Member

Gregory Birch 

Board Member

Screen Shot 2020-08-31 at 10.42.50

Alfred Scarpitti 

Board Member

Lacy Holly, Esq.  Board Member.jpg

Lacy Holly 

Board Member

Eleanor Rawley, Board Member.jpg

Elenor Rawley 

Board Member

John Dickenson Bord Nenber.JPG
Kenneth Branner, Board Member.jpg

Kenneth Branner 

Board Member

Kathy Kobus Board of Directors.jpg

John Dickerson 

Board Member

James Reynolds

Board Member

Kathleen Kobus

Board Member

bottom of page